Illustration pages . . . make you want to give up? Why? It’s inspiration!!

Yesterday I finished my radiotherapy, and for a small celebration after two months of monastic diet, I partook of a few beers and 1.5 glasses of wine with dinner. Imagine my surprise when I awoke at 7 am with the Mother of all headaches,  which required a paracetamol and another 5 hours of sleep to get over . . . . . I need a bit of training before I am ready to drink with the big boys, I think. So a bit of a lacklustre day but brightened up when surfing (skidding, maybe) I found www.illustrationpages.com some great work. Check it out.

On that note, many people say when they’ve seen a great drawing or heard a great musical performer, have said to me: ‘Doesn’t it make you want to give up?’ I say simply: ‘No.’ I simply don’t understand this attitude that doesn’t take inspiration from great performances or works. If I’d had this attitude towards the guitar I’d have given up in the early seventies when I was lucky enough to see Clapton, Rory Gallagher, BB King, Albert King, Johnny Winter, Rick Derringer, and John McLauglin,  and I certainly wouldn’t have carried on long enough to have enjoyed Bucky Pizzarelli, Jim Hall, George Benson – - you get my drift?

And when it comes to drawing,  I tentatively started drawing in my early fifties, and am still doing it despite having drawn alongside, people young enough to be my grandchildren (scary) who are naturally gifted  and have huge talent. But what the hell? I enjoy it: I’ve even published work. So I’ll carry on. You want to give up when you see something good, that’s OK But why??????

Any thoughts?

