anniversary . . .

I can’t remember the day of my graduation . .  nor the day I got my a-levels . . but I remember that on 23 January 1969 I passed my driving test.

The examiner said  ‘I think I’ll give you the benefit of the doubt, Mr Jones…..’

I said ‘Thank you’, mentally adding ‘ . . . you patronizing tosspot . . . .’

‘How did you get on?’ said my father .

‘I’ve passed’ I replied pleased, but a little pissed off with the examiner.

‘Now you can learn to drive’ said my father.

Yeah . . . thanks, again . . . .

2 Replies to “anniversary . . .”

  1. ‘Now you can learn to drive’ said my father 😀

    I passed my driving test last year, on the 4th try (and that too after taking 40 classes – the minimum required to qualify for the test). I failed for the following reasons: left turn wasn’t smooth enough, approached a round-about too slowly, and for failing to overtake the truck when I was expected to. I’ve never failed that many times in my life!

    And, thank you so much for stopping by my blog to read and comment. I have a notebook where I jot down thoughts and random sketches once in a while. Your comment inspired me to try drawing again.

Any thoughts?

