February Challenge 13-Greetings from

Greetings from Manchester; more specifically Stockport, and even more specifically Heaton Moor. After a few days with my Mum and my sister, I returned to visit the friends in the city which was my home for nearly forty years!!!

And yes it’s raining. I can’t remember being this wet for along time: I arrived at the pub on Friday night, and stood with my dripping head under the hand drier for some time! It’s been lovely to catch up with old friends. Conversations with Mark are always interesting!!!

I remarked that for my generation, the CDs we bought/received and the books we had gave information about our tastes: much the same as the old Through the keyhole programme did. Thpught this is open, Mark argued, it is only open to physical visitors, and that the ability to share our ‘taste in stuff’ via Spotify etc, etc. took the emphasis from ownership to interest and made the internet more open, not less. However I countered with the question, that if it is so open, why do so many people use nicknames (ones which don’t exist outside the internet)? We compromised on limited anonymous open-ness!!

Later Kay, Mark’s eldest daughter, was talking about postcard crossing whereby people send/receive cards from other subscribers to the site. The subscribers reveal their name address and interests, whilst communicating in a traditional and a digital way. Good stuff, eh? Greetings from …. wherever!!!!

 

Any thoughts?

