February Challenge -19: Out of a dream

I dream regularly and intensely. Lesley’s first words in the morning, on seeing my haggard expression, are often: ‘How was it on planet Rowland last night?’

I sometimes feel that I lead two equally exhausting lives. Sometimes they collide.

Once I dreamt that I was consoling and trying to calm a young boy who was possessed and moaning horribly…..

Half awake, I was explaining the dream to Lesley, when I heard that same dreadful sound…..

…. which I then realised was our neighbour snoring!

Strangely, one of the recurring themes in my dreams is ‘unfinished work’: homework, thesis, project . . .  so I’d better get back to work, as I’d like to sleep tonight!

8 thoughts on “February Challenge -19: Out of a dream

  1. Good Morning,
    don’t we all dream regularly? The question is more – do we remember?
    I don’t remember every morning but when I do, it is always very intense. I write about those dreams and try to figure out what they might mean. The last dream from earlier this months still sticks in my mind as it was real ….

    Happy Monday!

  2. re don’t we all dream regularly?
    I don’t honestly know.
    but I do know about my frequent intense dreams: waking up fighting, thrashing about wildly and sweating profusely!

    Not the stuff of dreams, really.

    Sweet dreams? I wish . . . .

    Happy Monday to you too!

    1. My house is a converted cantina built in the 13th or 14th century, it has stone walls a metre thick. ERGO: it says something about the power of his lungs 🙂

      The truth is we live inside the corner of the town walls: his palazzo is part of the walls, and there is a sort of acoustic phenomenon where the sound bounces around the inside of the the walls and travels . . a bit like the whispering Gallery in St. Paul’s Cathedral: but somehow lacking the same appeal: the Snoring Corner is not quite as romantic sounding, really, is it?

  3. I’m afraid he comes as part of the package . . they didn’t tell me either. I bought my place from his sister in law . . . . who lives two hundred miles away. Maybe I should have thought about the significance of that fact . . . .

Any thoughts?

