Piegaro

Still trying out Pitt pens with Micron for detail . . .  quite pleased but as usual I should have left it a bit earlier . . .why do I feel the urge and need to ‘fettle’ all the time??!!

8 Replies to “Piegaro”

  1. Thanks for teaching me a new word today. I knew that ‘fettle’ was a state or condition, i.e. “In fine fettle.”, but didn’t know the British slang meaning “To prepare or arrange.” I’m assuming from context that you mean it more in the way of ‘fiddling’ with something.

    BTW, the word also means “To line or repair the walls of a furnace.” So if someone ever says that they’re going to ‘fettle a furnace’ (not likely in the US). I’ll know what they mean. It also means to ‘fix or repair’ in British; perhaps you could comment on how common that usage is.

    1. Thanks for teaching me something! I thought the word originated from the Potteries . . fettling being the process of taking the rough edges off the plates etc. to make them perfect.
      You live and learn . . . . .

  2. Pegoleg….that was my line!

    Crap, for all we know we’ve already tossed back a few up those stairs. But then . . . how does Rowland know to . . . .

    I better not say anything more. He’s reading our minds.

Any thoughts?

