Observations

A while ago I mentioned Alan Fletcher and his observations-, and an idea that I’ve been  developing. It involves writing and over-writing, in my case on a grey base – it’s visual  word association though in some instances there is some sort of significance to the final image – the darkness of the one entitled Despair and the more light-hearted notion of the six strings in Guitar. Let me know what you think.

6 Replies to “Observations”

  1. “Guitar” is accessible, like you can just reach out and grab it. Nothing to hide. “Despair” seems to be trying to run away and hide from me. Which is why I keep going back to the latter. I guess it’s true what they say about playing hard to get.
    I really like these a lot.

    1. Thanks, CT! Fletcher’s idea is simply writing on top of writing and hthe first was a series of quotes by Sartre, Picasso, Sonntag, Barthes etc observations about art . . . hence the title.

      Have you seen any of Alan Fletcher’s books? The art of looking sideways in particular is wonderful

  2. Nope, I haven’t checked out any of his stuff yet but I will do so.
    Also, have to let you know . . . I had ’51 going on my stereo this morning. It took turns with some Amos Lee and Clapton. That’s the way to ease through a Sunday morning.

Any thoughts?

