Oversight vs overseeing 

I freely admit to being a grammar pedantUnfortunately, one of my pet hates has reared it’s rather unattractive head – ‘oversight’ versus ‘overseeing’

The concept of ‘overseeing a project to ensure its progress is going according to plan’ is well accepted but surely the noun cannot possibly be oversight, as this means the opposite i.e. something that was missed?!

I despair when I hear politicians management gurus, and various other semi-literates ‘stressing the importance of oversight’!

This has reached its nadir with somebody in the US being appointed Head of Oversight

But then this is the Trump administration so perhaps it is ironically appropriate. . . . 

One thought on “Oversight vs overseeing 

  1. How nice to see your smiling avatar in my WordPress feed again. I believe the first time we met was when you came to my blog and corrected a misspelling of “co-workers.” Good times, good times.

Any thoughts?

